Answer :

Following steps are involved in the process of sexual reproduction in plant:

(i) The male reproductive part of a flower is called stamen which consists a filament and an anther. Anther contains pollen grains.

(ii) The female reproductive part of a flower called carpel makes the female gametes. These gametes are present in the ovules and are called ova or egg.

(iii) The male gamete in the pollen grain fuses with the female gamete in the ovule to form a zygote (fertilised egg cell). This process of fusion is known as fertilisation.

(iv) The zygote grows within ovule and becomes seed.

(v) The seed produces new plant on germination.

Rate this question :

How useful is this solution?
We strive to provide quality solutions. Please rate us to serve you better.
Related Videos
How to Revise ChemistryHow to Revise ChemistryHow to Revise Chemistry45 mins
Try our Mini CourseMaster Important Topics in 7 DaysLearn from IITians, NITians, Doctors & Academic Experts
Dedicated counsellor for each student
24X7 Doubt Resolution
Daily Report Card
Detailed Performance Evaluation
view all courses

Differentiate betScience Lab Manual

When an insect siLakhmir Singh & Manjit Kaur- Biology

In what ways is fLakhmir Singh & Manjit Kaur- Biology

In a bisexual floLakhmir Singh & Manjit Kaur- Biology