Q. 55.0( 1 Vote )

which state in India has a special status?

Answer :

The special category status was historically granted to certain regions in India which had been at a disadvantage with respect to other parts of the country. This concept was first introduced in 1969 during the Fifth Finance Commission and initially included Assam, Nagaland and Jammu & Kashmir. Since then, eight more states have been included namely, Arunachal Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Sikkim, Tripura, and Uttarakhand.

Rate this question :

How useful is this solution?
We strive to provide quality solutions. Please rate us to serve you better.
Related Videos
NCERT | Learning The Basics of Federalism53 mins
NCERT | A Glimpse into Federal India56 mins
Try our Mini CourseMaster Important Topics in 7 DaysLearn from IITians, NITians, Doctors & Academic Experts
Dedicated counsellor for each student
24X7 Doubt Resolution
Daily Report Card
Detailed Performance Evaluation
view all courses