Q. 34.3( 17 Votes )

What are trophic

Answer :

Trophic levels are the steps in a food chain where transfer of food in the form of energy takes place between organisms. At each step in a food chain is an organism that forms the trophic level.

A food chain consisting of four trophic levels

Grass  Grasshopper/insect Frog→ Snake→Peacock

Trophic levels - (Producers) – (Primary consumer) — (Secondary consumer) — (Tertiary consumer)
In this food chain, the grass is a producer (First trophic level). insect/ grasshopper is a herbivore and eats grass. Thus, the insect is at the second trophic level. Insect, in turn, is eaten by frog (Carnivores I). Thus frog is at a third trophic level. The frog is eaten by a snake (Carnivores II ). Thus snake is at the fourth trophic level. Snake, in turn, is eaten by peacock( Carnivores III ). Thus, the peacock is at the fifth trophic level.

Rate this question :

How useful is this solution?
We strive to provide quality solutions. Please rate us to serve you better.
Try our Mini CourseMaster Important Topics in 7 DaysLearn from IITians, NITians, Doctors & Academic Experts
Dedicated counsellor for each student
24X7 Doubt Resolution
Daily Report Card
Detailed Performance Evaluation
view all courses

A food chain compLakhmir Singh & Manjit Kaur- Biology

An aquatic food cLakhmir Singh & Manjit Kaur- Biology

The surface of waLakhmir Singh & Manjit Kaur- Biology

A forest ecosysteLakhmir Singh & Manjit Kaur- Biology

A food chain consLakhmir Singh & Manjit Kaur- Biology

Suggest suitable NCERT - Science Exemplar

<span lang="EN-USNCERT - Science Exemplar

<span lang="EN-USNCERT - Science Exemplar