Answer :

The some of the element of the 18th group of the periodic table which do not combine with other elements. Those elements of the 18th group are helium, neon, argon, krypton, xenon and radon. These elements of the 18th group is known as the noble gas or inert gas and this is because of the reason that they do not react at all. If we look at the electronic configuration of noble gases, we would notice that except helium, all other inert gases have 8 electrons (helium has 2) in their outermost shells. This is considered to be the most stable arrangement of electrons.

Rate this question :

How useful is this solution?
We strive to provide quality solutions. Please rate us to serve you better.
Try our Mini CourseMaster Important Topics in 7 DaysLearn from IITians, NITians, Doctors & Academic Experts
Dedicated counsellor for each student
24X7 Doubt Resolution
Daily Report Card
Detailed Performance Evaluation
view all courses

What is observed Science - Board Papers

An element X reacts Lakhmir Singh & Manjit Kaur - Chemistry
Out of aluminium, coLakhmir Singh & Manjit Kaur - Chemistry
The least reactive mLakhmir Singh & Manjit Kaur - Chemistry
An element X forms tLakhmir Singh & Manjit Kaur - Chemistry
The metals which canLakhmir Singh & Manjit Kaur - Chemistry
Out of the followingLakhmir Singh & Manjit Kaur - Chemistry