Q. 21 A5.0( 1 Vote )

Note: The followi

Answer :

The expression South Asia includes the following countries:

• Bangladesh

• Bhutan

• India

• The Maldives

• Nepal

• Pakistan

• Sri Lanka.

The region is considered to be a subcontinent because of its linguistic, social and cultural uniqueness. The Himalayas in the north and the Indian Ocean, the Arabian Sea and the Bay of Bengal in the south, west and east respectively provide a natural boundary to the region. Even though China is an important country, it is not considered to be a part of the region.

(ii) • India

• Sri Lanka

(iii) The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) is a regional initiative by the South Asian countries. It aims to develop cooperation through multilateral means and agreements. It was incorporated in 1985. But, due to the continuing political differences between the countries, SAARC was not completely successful.

The members of SAARC signed the South Asian Free Trade (SAFTA) agreement. It ensured the creation of a free trade zone for all of the South Asian countries. It was signed in 2004 and came into effect from 1 January 2006.

Rate this question :

How useful is this solution?
We strive to provide quality solutions. Please rate us to serve you better.
Try our Mini CourseMaster Important Topics in 7 DaysLearn from IITians, NITians, Doctors & Academic Experts
Dedicated counsellor for each student
24X7 Doubt Resolution
Daily Report Card
Detailed Performance Evaluation
view all courses

How did the SoviePolitical Science - Board Papers

Why did India disPolitical Science - Board Papers

Read the passage Political Science - Board Papers

<span lang="EN-USPolitical Science - Board Papers

Highlight any thrPolitical Science - Board Papers

In the given poliPolitical Science - Board Papers

Note: The followiPolitical Science - Board Papers

Assess the main cPolitical Science - Board Papers