Q. 194.0( 2 Votes )

Name the three ma

Answer :

Indian Drainage system is formed by two types of rivers-Himalayan Rivers and Peninsular Rivers. Indian Drainage System has three major systems- Indus River System, Ganga River System and Brahmaputra River System. About 77% of Indian Drainage system is made up of these three major Systems. Himalayan rivers have their origin from the Himalayan Mountains. Himalayan rivers are perennial rivers (Perennial Rivers are those rivers which flow throughout the year). They are not dependent on rainfall for their flow. They carry a high volume of water, silt, soil with them. When they reach the northern plains, they form floodplains and deposit fertile alluvial soil in the region. This fertile soil helps in the production of food grains and makes the area suitable for cultivation.

Three main Himalayan rivers are Indus, Ganga and Brahmaputra. Major left-bank tributaries of Indus are Zanskar River, Jhelum River, Chenab River, Ravi River, Beas River, Sutlej River and major right-bank tributaries are Shyok River, Hunza River, Gilgit River, Swat River. Major left-bank tributaries of Ganga are Gomati, Ghaghara, Gandak and Kosi and major right-bank tributaries include the Yamuna, Son and Damodar. Major left-bank tributaries of Brahmaputra are Dibang River, Lohit River and Dhansiri River and major right-bank tributaries include Kameng River, Manas River, Teesta River and Subansiri River.

Rate this question :

How useful is this solution?
We strive to provide quality solutions. Please rate us to serve you better.
Related Videos
Champ Quiz | Trip to Dams and Rivers of IndiaChamp Quiz | Trip to Dams and Rivers of IndiaChamp Quiz | Trip to Dams and Rivers of India46 mins
Try our Mini CourseMaster Important Topics in 7 DaysLearn from IITians, NITians, Doctors & Academic Experts
Dedicated counsellor for each student
24X7 Doubt Resolution
Daily Report Card
Detailed Performance Evaluation
view all courses