Q. 2 A4.0( 4 Votes )

Answer the following questions:

Mention the three major layers of the interior of the Earth.

Answer :

The three major layers of the interior of the earth are:

• The crust

Is the uppermost layer of the Earth, rich in Silica, Aluminum and Magnesium. This layer is about 60 kms from the surface. Is further divided into upper continental crust (SIAL) and lower oceanic crust (SIMA).

• The mantle

Is the middle layer of the Earth. Is composed of dense and rigid rocks which have a predominance of minerals like magnesium and iron. This layer is 2900 kms deep. The materials are in semi-liquid or molten state called the magma. The layer is further divided into two: (a) Upper mantle or Asthenosphere in a partially molten condition and (b) Lower mantle or Mesosphere in solid condition.

• The core

Is the innermost layer of the Earth. The important minerals are Nickel and Ferrous (iron). This layer has a maximum depth of 6371 kms from the surface. The core is divided into two sub layers: (a) the outer core is known as molten core, where the materials are in liquid and in molten form, and (b) the inner core known as solid core.

The core is the innermost layer, mantle is the middle layer and the crust is the outermost layer.

Rate this question :

How useful is this solution?
We strive to provide quality solutions. Please rate us to serve you better.
Try our Mini CourseMaster Important Topics in 7 DaysLearn from IITians, NITians, Doctors & Academic Experts
Dedicated counsellor for each student
24X7 Doubt Resolution
Daily Report Card
Detailed Performance Evaluation
view all courses