Q. 1

In what forms, Indian mineral is classified?

Answer :

The minerals are classified into two major categories:

1. Metallic minerals

2. Non-metallic minerals

1. Metallic minerals:

Minerals that show metallic properties are known as metallic minerals. They are further classified into Ferrous and non-ferrous minerals.

Ferrous minerals:

Minerals that are rich in iron are called Ferrous minerals. Example – Chromite, pyrite, tungsten, cobalt, etc.

Non-Ferrous minerals:

Minerals that do not contain iron are called Non-Ferrous minerals. Example – Gold, silver, copper, etc.,

2. Non-metallic minerals:

Minerals that do not have metallic properties are called non-metallic minerals.

Example – Dolomite, mica, gypsum, etc.,

Rate this question :

How useful is this solution?
We strive to provide quality solutions. Please rate us to serve you better.
Related Videos
Resources and Development34 mins
Quiz | Exploring The Resource Wealth of India48 mins
Classification of Resources on the Basis of Development43 mins
Classification of Soils41 mins
Natural Resources32 mins
About Mass-Energy EquivalenceFREE Class
Electric Potential Energy48 mins
Fundamentals of Heat Energy47 mins
Overview of Nuclear Energy47 mins
Different Types of Potential Energy33 mins
Try our Mini CourseMaster Important Topics in 7 DaysLearn from IITians, NITians, Doctors & Academic Experts
Dedicated counsellor for each student
24X7 Doubt Resolution
Daily Report Card
Detailed Performance Evaluation
view all courses