Q. 23.8( 8 Votes )

How were the new states formed?

Answer :

The new states were formed along linguistic lines.

a) In 1953, following the mass protests after the death of Potti Sriralmulu, the Telugu speakers were granted the state of Andhra Pradesh.

b) In 1956, the State Reorganisation Committee stipulated the formation of states for Assamese, Oriya, Bengali and Kannada speakers.

c) The idea of linguistic division was used to divide Bombay into Maharashtra and Gujarat in 1960, and Punjab into Punjab and Haryana in 1966.

Rate this question :

How useful is this solution?
We strive to provide quality solutions. Please rate us to serve you better.
Related Videos
OMG! My indiaOMG! My indiaOMG! My india34 mins
Constitution of IndiaConstitution of IndiaConstitution of India32 mins
Try our Mini CourseMaster Important Topics in 7 DaysLearn from IITians, NITians, Doctors & Academic Experts
Dedicated counsellor for each student
24X7 Doubt Resolution
Daily Report Card
Detailed Performance Evaluation
view all courses