Q. 235.0( 4 Votes )

How are the

Answer :

The legislative powers are divided between the Union government and the State governments by the Constitution. They are divided into three lists- Union list, State list and Concurrent List.

Union List:

The Union List or List I of the Seventh Schedule of the Constitution of India lists 100 subjects over which the Parliament and by association, the central government has exclusive power to legislate. It includes subjects like the defence matters of India, Industries, citizenship, banking etc.

State List:

The State List or List II has 61 items listed under it and belongs to Schedule Seven in the Constitution of India. These items range from public order, police, trade, and commerce within the state, agriculture, several taxes, elections to state legislatures etc. The respective state governments have exclusive power to legislate on matters relating to these items.

Concurrent List:

The Concurrent List or List III of the Seventh Schedule of the Indian Constitution lists 52 items on which both the central and state government can make laws. These items include criminal law, forests, adulteration, civil procedure, etc. The Concurrent List includes the subjects on which both the Union Government as well as the State Government have jurisdiction. In case of the conflict regarding the laws on subjects of the Concurrent List between the State and the Union government , the law made by the Union Government prevails.

Rate this question :

How useful is this solution?
We strive to provide quality solutions. Please rate us to serve you better.
Try our Mini CourseMaster Important Topics in 7 DaysLearn from IITians, NITians, Doctors & Academic Experts
Dedicated counsellor for each student
24X7 Doubt Resolution
Daily Report Card
Detailed Performance Evaluation
view all courses