Answer :

British India was divided into what were called the British Indian Provinces and the Princely States. The British Indian Provinces were directly under the control of the British government. On the other hand, several large and small states ruled by princes, called the Princely States, enjoyed some form of control over their internal affairs as long as they accepted British supremacy.

1. The princely States earlier wanted to be independent, but after further persuasion by Sardar Patel it was decided by most of the princely states whose borders were contiguous with new Indian territory to be part of Independent India.

2. Though this move was a forced one but it was the need of that hour as without accession to these states it would have formed a nation within nation and would have paved way for further confliction.

3. Most of the princely rulers signed the accession except in states like Hyderabad and Manipur where people agitated.

Rate this question :

How useful is this solution?
We strive to provide quality solutions. Please rate us to serve you better.
Try our Mini CourseMaster Important Topics in 7 DaysLearn from IITians, NITians, Doctors & Academic Experts
Dedicated counsellor for each student
24X7 Doubt Resolution
Daily Report Card
Detailed Performance Evaluation
view all courses

Match the facts gPolitical Science - Board Papers

<span lang="EN-USPolitical Science - Board Papers

Study the followiPolitical Science - Board Papers