Q. 14

Explain the compo

Answer :

The UN Security council consists of five permanent members and ten non-permanent members. The non-permanent members are elected with the motive to ensure diversity. The difference between the permanent members lies in the fact that they are permanent and they get veto powers in decision making. The ten non-permanent members are temporary in nature and are replaced every two years to give way to new members. Hence, they do not hold veto power. The veto power that rests with the permanent members gives them the authority to out vote decisions made by the Council. They hold the power of negative voting which means a negative vote from a permanent member can stall the entire decision-making process. This is how the permanent members can exercise their privileges as opposed to the non-permanent members.

Rate this question :

How useful is this solution?
We strive to provide quality solutions. Please rate us to serve you better.
Try our Mini CourseMaster Important Topics in 7 DaysLearn from IITians, NITians, Doctors & Academic Experts
Dedicated counsellor for each student
24X7 Doubt Resolution
Daily Report Card
Detailed Performance Evaluation
view all courses

Describe the threPolitical Science - Board Papers

Mention any four Political Science - Board Papers

Analyze any threePolitical Science - Board Papers

Analyze the biggePolitical Science - Board Papers

What does hide stPolitical Science - Board Papers

Explain the meaniPolitical Science - Board Papers