Answer :

Taking in and giving out air is called breathing.

Breathing is done with the help of the respiratory system.

The respiratory system consists of nose, pharynx, larynx, trachea, bronchi, and lungs.

Lungs include bronchioles and alveoli.

The process of breathing:

● Air enters the nasal cavity through the nostrils.

● Dust particles present in the air are prevented from reaching the lungs.

● Air passes to the pharynx, and then into the trachea with the help of epiglottis.

● The trachea is supported by ‘C’ cartilaginous rings which prevent the trachea from collapsing.

● The trachea is divided into two branches called bronchi.

● One bronchus enters the left lung and the other enters the right lung.

● These bronchi are further branched into bronchioles.

Air sacs are present at the terminals of bronchioles. These are called alveoli.

Gaseous exchange occurs in the alveoli, gives out carbon dioxide and collects oxygen.

Oxygenated blood distributes oxygen to the cells.

Oxygen is used to oxidize food to release energy in the process of cellular Respiration.

Carbon dioxide that is formed as a by-product during respiration is carried by the blood to the alveoli.

Carbon dioxide is exhaled out through nostrils.

Rate this question :

How useful is this solution?
We strive to provide quality solutions. Please rate us to serve you better.
Try our Mini CourseMaster Important Topics in 7 DaysLearn from IITians, NITians, Doctors & Academic Experts
Dedicated counsellor for each student
24X7 Doubt Resolution
Daily Report Card
Detailed Performance Evaluation
view all courses

Answer the followKarnataka Board - Science Part II