Q. 245.0( 1 Vote )

Show that the points A(1, 0), B(5, 3), C(2, 7) and D(- 2, 4) are the vertices of a rhombus.

Answer :

Given points are A(1, 0), B(5, 3), C(2, 7) and D(- 2, 4).

We need to prove that these are the vertices of a rhombus.

We know that in the lengths of sides are equal in a rhombus and the length of diagonals are not equal.

Let us find the lengths of the sides.

We know that the distance between the points (x1, y1) and (x2, y2) is .


AB = 5

BC = 5

CD = 5

DA = 5

We got AB = BC = CD = DA, these are the vertices of a square or a rhombus.

Now we find the lengths of the diagonals.

We got AC = BD.

The points form a square not rhombus.

Rate this question :

How useful is this solution?
We strive to provide quality solutions. Please rate us to serve you better.
Related Videos
Section Formula30 mins
Previous Year RMO Questions43 mins
NCERT | Most Important Proofs for Boards28 mins
Know About Important Proofs in Triangles33 mins
Champ Quiz | Previous Year NTSE QuestionsFREE Class
Measuring distance by Distance formula49 mins
Champ Quiz | Distance Formula30 mins
Coordinate Geometry Important Questions38 mins
Imp. Qs. on Distance Formula68 mins
Geometry of Temples36 mins
Try our Mini CourseMaster Important Topics in 7 DaysLearn from IITians, NITians, Doctors & Academic Experts
Dedicated counsellor for each student
24X7 Doubt Resolution
Daily Report Card
Detailed Performance Evaluation
view all courses