Answer :

(a) Site for Production of gametes: Ovary

(b) Site of fertilisation: Isthmus-ampullary junction.

(c) Site of implantation: Uterine endometrium

(d) Birth canal: Cervix and vagina

The female reproductive system includes:

1. Uterus: It is a muscular pear-shaped organ and is also known as the womb. It is the part where the zygote develops into an embryo and then grows into the foetus.

2. Fallopian tubes: These are funnel shaped muscular tubes that extends from both right and left side of the uterus extended to the edge of the ovaries. These tubes have finger-like projections called fimbriae. These fimbriae extend to the ovary and pick up ova that is produced by ovary into the infundibulum and finally reaches the uterus.

3. Vagina: It is an elastic and muscular tube that acts as a receptor for sperms during sexual intercourse and delivers the sperm to the fallopian tube as well as to the uterus.

Rate this question :

How useful is this solution?
We strive to provide quality solutions. Please rate us to serve you better.
Try our Mini CourseMaster Important Topics in 7 DaysLearn from IITians, NITians, Doctors & Academic Experts
Dedicated counsellor for each student
24X7 Doubt Resolution
Daily Report Card
Detailed Performance Evaluation
view all courses

Draw a neat diagrBiology - Exemplar

Identify the odd Biology - Exemplar

Which of the follBiology - Exemplar

In a developing eBiology - Exemplar