Q. 24.7( 3 Votes )

Collect pictures and information of India’s Presidents since independence.

Answer :

India got independence on 15th August 1947 from the British rule. Since then there have been 14 Presidents. Following is the chronological list of Presidents of India:

1. Rajendra Prasad (elected in 1952 and 1957)

He was the first President of independent India and also the longest-serving President. He was a freedom fighter also during the Indian independence movement.

2. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan (elected in 1962)

He was a prominent philosopher and writer and also received Bharat Ratna award in 1954 before becoming the President. He was the first President from south India.

3. Zakir Hussain (elected in 1967)

Husain was vice chancellor of the Aligarh Muslim University and a recipient of Padma Vibhushan and Bharat Ratna. He died in office, the first to do so. He was also the first Muslim President.

• Varahagiri Venkata Giri

Following the death of President Zakir Husain, Giri was appointed as Acting President.

• Mohammad Hidayatullah (elected in 1969)

He served as Acting President until the election of Giri as the President of India. He has also served as the chief justice of India.

4. Varahgiri Venkata Giri (elected in1969)

He was the first person to have served as both an acting President and President of India. He was a recipient of Bharat Ratna.

5.Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed (Elected in 1974)

He was the second Indian President to die in the office. He was a minister before being elected as the President.

5. Basappa Danappapa Jatti (elected in 1977)

He was the vice President of India during Ahmed's term of office and was sworn in as Acting President upon Ahmed's death.

6. Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy (elected in1977)

He was the first chief minister of Andhra Pradesh and unanimously elected speaker of the Lok Sabha.

7. Zail Singh (elected in1982)

He was the chief minister of Punjab and he became Union Home Minister. He was also secretary general to Non- Alignment Movement.

8. Ramaswamy Venkataraman (elected in 1987)

He was jailed by the British for his involvement in the Indian Independence Movement. After his release, he was elected to independent India’s Provisional Parliament as a member of the Congress Party in 1950 and eventually joined the central government.

9. Shankar Dayal Sharma (elected in1992)

Sharma was the CM of Madhya Pradesh and the Indian Minister for Communications.

10. Kocher Raman Narayanan

He served as India's ambassador to Thailand, Turkey, China and the United States of America. He was the first Dalit President. He also received doctorates in science and law.

11. Avul Pakir Jainulabdeen Abdul Kalam (elected in 2002)

He was an educator and engineer who played a leading role in the development of India's ballistic missile and nuclear weapons programs.He also received the Bharat Ratna.

12. Pratibha Patil (elected in 2007)

She was also the first female governor of Rajasthan

13. Pranab Mukherjee (elected in 2012)

He held various posts in the cabinet minister for the Government of India such as Finance Minister, Foreign Minister, and Defense Minister.

14. Ram Nath Kovind (elected in 2017)

He was governor of Bihar from 2015 to 2017 and a Member of Parliament from 1994 to 2006. He is the second Dalit President after K R Narayanan and was an active member of RSS since his youth.

Rate this question :

How useful is this solution?
We strive to provide quality solutions. Please rate us to serve you better.
Related Videos
Decode the Science Behind the Paranormal Activities!Decode the Science Behind the Paranormal Activities!Decode the Science Behind the Paranormal Activities!32 mins
The TsunamiThe TsunamiThe Tsunami32 mins
The Selfish GiantThe Selfish GiantThe Selfish Giant43 mins
The Best Christmas Present in the WorldThe Best Christmas Present in the WorldThe Best Christmas Present in the World31 mins
The Treasure WithinThe Treasure WithinThe Treasure Within48 mins
NCERT | The Geography LessonNCERT | The Geography LessonNCERT | The Geography Lesson37 mins
Quiz | The Geography LessonQuiz | The Geography LessonQuiz | The Geography LessonFREE Class
The Friendly MicrobesThe Friendly MicrobesThe Friendly Microbes47 mins
Ear - The Balancing OrganEar - The Balancing OrganEar - The Balancing OrganFREE Class
The Ant and the Cricket (Moral)The Ant and the Cricket (Moral)The Ant and the Cricket (Moral)38 mins
Try our Mini CourseMaster Important Topics in 7 DaysLearn from IITians, NITians, Doctors & Academic Experts
Dedicated counsellor for each student
24X7 Doubt Resolution
Daily Report Card
Detailed Performance Evaluation
view all courses