Q. 103.5( 2 Votes )

“Brahmanical norm

Answer :

According to the religious text of Hindus- Manusmriti, there existed eight types of marriages in the Hindu tradition called the Ashta vivaah.

1. The first four forms of marriages were known as Prashsta forms, these being the approved marriages. The next four marriages were called the Aprashatsa form, these were regarded as undesirable.

2. Moreover, according to the Hindu laws, the social practices which were not up to the mark as per the brahminical ideas were regarded as undesirable and an uncivilized one.

3. However, despite all these traditions and rules and regulations there did exist Anuloma and Pratiloma kinds of marriages.

Some of these examples are-

Bhima getting married to the asura Hidimba despite of the prescribed laws of the dharmashastra.

Rate this question :

How useful is this solution?
We strive to provide quality solutions. Please rate us to serve you better.
Try our Mini CourseMaster Important Topics in 7 DaysLearn from IITians, NITians, Doctors & Academic Experts
Dedicated counsellor for each student
24X7 Doubt Resolution
Daily Report Card
Detailed Performance Evaluation
view all courses

‘Kabir was and isHistory - Board Papers

Read the followinHistory - Board Papers

Read the followinHistory - Board Papers

State any two chaHistory - Board Papers