CBSE 2020 Syllabus (New): Check detailed CBSE Curriculum for Classes 9 to 12

CBSE Board New Syllabus 2020, Check the list of excluded topics of Classes 9 to 12 here.

By Mohit ChauhanUpdated : July 8, 2020 , 13:09 IST
CBSE 2020 Syllabus (New): Check detailed CBSE Curriculum for Classes 9 to 12

The Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) on July 7, 2020, announced new CBSE syllabus for Classes 9 to 12 for the academic session 2020-21. In order to compensate for the disruption in the ongoing academic year caused due to the pandemic, the Board has decided to retain the core concepts thereby reducing the CBSE 2020 syllabus by 30%. 

According to the revised CBSE curriculum Classes 9 to 12, students will have to prepare only for the concepts mentioned in the revised syllabus. The topics that are not part of the syllabus will not be considered for internal assessment and CBSE Board exams. For elementary classes (1 to 8), NCERT will release the alternative academic calendar which has to be followed by all CBSE-affiliated school. 

The other purpose behind the reduced syllabus is to promote authentic assessments, self-directed learning, and use of technology and information. As per the CBSE New Syllabus 2020-21, the list of excluded chapters class-wise is mentioned below. 

List of Excluded Concepts in CBSE New Syllabus (Class-wise)

The list of topics that are provided below will not be a part of the internal assessment and year-end CBSE Board exams. 

CBSE Class 10th 2020 Syllabus (Revised): List of excluded chapters 

Check the list of excluded topics as per the new CBSE Class 10 syllabus here. 

  • Democracy and Diversity
  • Gender
  • Religion & Caste
  • Popular Struggles and Movement
  • Challenges to Democracy

CBSE Class 11th 2020 Syllabus (Revised): List of excluded chapters 

The Board has removed the following topics in the new syllabus of CBSE Class 11

  • Federalism
  • Citizenship
  • Nationalism
  • Secularism
  • Growth of Local Governments in India

CBSE Class 12th 2020 Syllabus (Revised): List of excluded chapters 

As per the revised Class 12 CBSE Syllabus, the following topics will not be tested in the main exams and unit tests. 

  • India’s Relations with its Neighbours
  • Changing Nature of India’s Economic Development 
  • Social Movements in India
  • Demonetisation

Prior to the revision of syllabus, HRD Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal had asked educationalists to share their views regarding the same. Looking at the ever-growing infected cases, the government kept the schools and colleges closed till July 31.


Class 12thGeographyHistoryPolitical Science


Mohit Chauhan
Written by -

Mohit Chauhan