Answer :

Ascocarp i.e. the fruiting body present in the ascomycetes are divided into three types i.e apothecium, perithecium and cleistothecium. This division is based on the difference in shapes of the fruiting body and presence and absence of the opening lid called the ostiole.

• Apothecium: It’s a saucer or cup shaped, open fruiting body.

• Perithecium: Flask shaped fruiting body. With an opening lid called the ostiole.

• Cleistothecium: It’s a closed spherical structure. Ostiole is absent.

Rate this question :

How useful is this solution?
We strive to provide quality solutions. Please rate us to serve you better.
Try our Mini CourseMaster Important Topics in 7 DaysLearn from IITians, NITians, Doctors & Academic Experts
Dedicated counsellor for each student
24X7 Doubt Resolution
Daily Report Card
Detailed Performance Evaluation
view all courses

There is a myth tBiology - Exemplar

At a stage of theBiology - Exemplar

Fungi are cosmopoBiology - Exemplar

Make a list of alBiology - Exemplar

The five-kingdom Biology - Exemplar

Members of phycomBiology - Exemplar

With respect to fBiology - Exemplar

A dikaryon is forBiology - Exemplar

NeurosporaBiology - Exemplar