Q. 205.0( 2 Votes )

Analyse the impor

Answer :

The Consumer Protection Act (COPRA) was enacted in 1986 in the light of increasing exploitation and unfair trade practices that took place in the market. Under COPRA, three-tier quasi-judicial machinery has been set up at the district, state and national levels for redressal of consumer disputes.

1. The district level court has been allotted the cases that deal with claims up to Rs. 20 Lakhs.

2. The state-level court has been allotted the cases with claims between Rs. 20 Lakhs and Rs. 1 Crore.

3. The national level court has been allotted the cases which involve claims exceeding Rs. 1 Crore.

If a case is dismissed in the district level court, the consumer can also appeal to state and then in national level courts.

NOTE – COPRA has enabled consumers to have the right to represent in the consumer courts at various levels.

Rate this question :

How useful is this solution?
We strive to provide quality solutions. Please rate us to serve you better.
Try our Mini CourseMaster Important Topics in 7 DaysLearn from IITians, NITians, Doctors & Academic Experts
Dedicated counsellor for each student
24X7 Doubt Resolution
Daily Report Card
Detailed Performance Evaluation
view all courses