Q. 53.7( 3 Votes )

A plant was uproo

Answer :

The roots are organs of a plant that helps in holding the plant to the ground by holding it steady and anchored. There are different types of root systems, which are different for different varieties of plants.

This classification is based on their external feature, their level of organization.

There are 3 main root systems - Taproots, Fibrous, roots, and adventitious roots.

The taproots are characteristic of the Dicot plants. The taproot system consists of a primary root, from which tiny roots grow out laterally. The dicotyledonous seed grows a radicle, which develops into the root. It is larger and grows faster than the branch roots.

The fibrous root system has shallower roots than the taproots. They are all roots with the same size. They are mostly found in grasses, eudicots, and gymnosperms.

The adventitious root system has roots growing from any other part of the boy rather than the main roots. They can grow from the nodes of the stem, or less commonly from the leaves also. The monocots have the adventitious root system.

Also, there are storage roots that store food materials like the tubers, etc.

Rate this question :

How useful is this solution?
We strive to provide quality solutions. Please rate us to serve you better.
Try our Mini CourseMaster Important Topics in 7 DaysLearn from IITians, NITians, Doctors & Academic Experts
Dedicated counsellor for each student
24X7 Doubt Resolution
Daily Report Card
Detailed Performance Evaluation
view all courses